It’s a kids’ world at Newport Beach Public Library this summer

Hey kids! Newport Beach Public Library (NBPL) announces a summer of free family activities, entertaining performances and an interactive reading challenge. From high-energy dance to interactive science programs, family crafts, prizes, books and much more. Stop by any location or check out their website to learn how you can join the fun! The program runs from June 8 through July 27.

Summer Reading Program events are generously funded by the Friends of the Library. Children must be accompanied by an adult. Space is first-come, first-seated and limited by room capacity. Registration is not required.

Click on photo for a larger image

Photos courtesy of NBPL

Engage in the NBPL Summer Reading Program with Opening Day on June 8

Summer Reading Challenge Opening Day

On Saturday, June 8, start your summer of fun at any Newport Beach Public library location with a day of activities and crafts to kick off the start of their annual Summer Reading Program. Sign up for the reading challenge on June 8 to be entered into the Opening Day Prize Drawing.

High-Energy Dance: POWERHOUSE

Central Library: Tuesday, June 11 at 11 a.m.

Balboa Branch: Wednesday, June 12 at 3 p.m.

Mariners Branch: Saturday, June 15 at 11 a.m.

POWERHOUSE, a group of nationally recognized percussive dancers, combines innovative tap, precision clogging, Irish step and explosive stomp to create an interactive, unique and mesmerizing dance program.

Click on photo for a larger image

Get Wild About Animals with Doodlebugs at the Corona del Mar Library Branch

Doodlebugs: Wild About Animals

On Thursday, June 13 at Corona del Mar Branch Library, meet LIVE animals from around the world with Doodlebugs Animal Adventures! Learn some facts and see some amazing creatures in this interactive and educational program.

Desert Habitat Crafts

Central Library: Tuesday, June 18 at 11 a.m.

Balboa Branch: Wednesday, June 19 at 3 p.m.

Corona del Mar Branch: Thursday, June 20 at 3 p.m.

Mariners Branch: Saturday, June 22 at 11 a.m.

Desert crafts will be in bloom the week of June 16 at your favorite branch library. From critters to cacti, sand to sunshine, come and create your very own desert-themed crafts.

Dig Dug and Dino-mites

Central Library: Tuesday, June 25 at 11 a.m.

Balboa Branch: Wednesday, June 26 at 3 p.m.

Corona del Mar Branch: Thursday, June 27 at 3 p.m.

Mariners Branch: Saturday, June 29 at 11 a.m.

Meet Dig Dug and his Dino-friends as they go on a fun dinosaur adventure after awaking from a 65-million-year nap! Enjoy this interactive and engaging puppet show all about dinosaurs.

Under the Sea Crafts

Central Library: Tuesday, July 2 at 11 a.m.

Balboa Branch: Wednesday, July 3 at 3 p.m.

Corona del Mar Branch: Friday, July 5 at 3 p.m.

Mariners Branch: Saturday, July 6 at 11 a.m.

Dive into your creativity with crafts inspired by deep-sea creatures and the majestic depths of the ocean.

Let’s Go Crazy for Chemistry

Central Library: Tuesday, July 9 at 11 a.m.

Balboa Branch: Wednesday, July 10 at 3 p.m.

Corona del Mar Branch: Thursday, July 11 at 3 p.m.

Mariners Branch: Saturday, July 13 at 11 a.m.

Explore the gooey, slippery, slimy world of chemistry with a zany professor of fun! Kids will be guided through experiments that change everyday household items using the principles of chemistry.

Forest Animal Crafts

Central Library: Tuesday, July 16 at 11 a.m.

Balboa Branch: Wednesday, July 17 at 3 p.m.

Corona del Mar Branch: Thursday, July 18 at 3 p.m.

Mariners Branch: Saturday, July 20 at 11 a.m.

Who lives in the forest? Make crafts that explore this diverse habitat and its many adorable creatures!

Click on photo for a larger image

Discover tricks and illusions with the Magic of Tony Daniels at all library branches

Magic Show: Reading is Magic

Central Library: Tuesday, July 23 at 11 a.m.

Balboa Branch: Wednesday, July 24 at 3 p.m.

Corona del Mar Branch: Thursday, July 25 at 3 p.m.

Mariners Branch: Saturday, July 27 at 11 a.m.

Experience exciting displays of tricks and illusions with the Magic of Tony Daniels. Join this fun-filled show of magic and comedy.

Library branches:

–Central Library, 1000 Avocado Ave., Newport Beach

–Balboa Branch, 100 E. Balboa Blvd., Balboa

–Corona del Mar Branch, 410 Marigold Ave., Corona del Mar

–Crean Mariners Branch, 1300 Irvine Ave., Newport Beach

For more information and a complete listing of events, visit the NBPL calendar here.


Slide

Send this to a friend